Major Changes

It is amazing how much can change in a person’s life in just seven days. I had a major change this past week. My oldest daughter and her kitty has come home, She needed to come home and make some major changes. We spent the last 5 days shifting things around, emptying her apartment and closing that chapter of her life. Seems funny to have her back home but not sure why, she has spent more time living at home then living away. When she first moved out I have to admit I was devastated. I felt as if I had lost my best friend, we had always been close. But after a while I got use to her living her own life, in her own home plus my youngest was still at home. Then two years later my youngest began her adult life and I was truly an empty nest mom. Another big adjustment but for the last 18 months I have become accustom to it. I have taken over their closet, lovingly hanging my fabric stash on hangers, so neat and color coordinated. I began to turn their room into a large closet, storing every thing in there that I didn’t want to store in the damp musty basement. My pattern collection grew, I finally owned two dress forms that I loving referred to as my daughters. I will even admit that I was beginning to enjoy it, the peace and quiet at night. That is really when I began to sew again. I had the time, I had the space and I finally had extra money.

Now the bedroom is a bedroom again, my fabric stash is in plastic tubs and plastic bags, the basement is full of her furniture, every nook and cranny of this house is full. My dining room houses her mattress, my pantry is over flowing, the linen closet can’t hold one more thing, even the under the bed space is packed. We are eating meals at home again, instead of just grabbing a sandwich or eating a bag of popcorn. We have to worry about bathroom schedules again. But after it is all said and done I would not have it any other way.

I am glad that I had not committed myself to any challenges this month. I will continue to sew, perhaps it will be at a slower pace until everyone gets settled in, but I make time. If fact I have started my youngest daughter’s flannel shirt, she picked out this fabric when it was still 90 degrees, but fall has finally arrived, the days and nights are cooler now. I love the fabric and the colors she has made. I have even managed to get the first muslin done.

Fabric and PatternShe has selected the short version, with a collar and long sleeve.

First muslinShe wants a pair of slim fit high waisted jeans, she and I both were inspired by Butterick’s pattern #5895 after seeing Mimi’s version on her blog Mimi G’s Style. She rocks those jeans and we are hoping to use her inspiration to create a great pair of jeans for Stef.

7 thoughts on “Major Changes

  1. sewexhausted says:

    I have 3 daughters- 16, 18 and 21 and they are still at home. I always wonder what it will be like when they leave and get sad thinking about it! But then I think about the extra money and space and tell them (jokingly) I am going to move out! I figure I will just enjoy it while they are here and come what may! This was a good post! Made me think… I am happy she is back for a while! Sounds like it will be a good change for a spell! My kids are my heart- I am sure you feel the same!~Laurie

  2. Ali says:

    I’m 41 and my mum’s still my best friend. I left home at 23 and returned for a year when I was 25 and it was great to be back.
    I can’t understand how some mums & daughters aren’t close like you 2 are and how I am with mine. Maybe we’re just the lucky ones.
    I’m sure you’ll love having your best back, and she’ll love being back. 😊

  3. tanya maile says:

    I remember my mom feeling depressed when I moved out, too.. but then they turned my room into an office and my dad took my closet. It’s strange that some of my posters are still on the walls. Lol. At least I now only live about an 1/8 of a mile away with a short walk down the driveway!

  4. Béa says:

    It’s lovely that you can welcome your daughter back home so easily. I hope you can all get settled down quickly from this initial unheaval, and I’m looking forward to hearing all about that McCalls shirt- that pattern looks great.

  5. Elena Knits says:

    I’m glad that you like those changes. It’s always nice to have the girls back. I left home 8 years ago, after prudently waiting for a year after my father left. It was hard for my mother at first but she then started to enjoy her independence. Nowadays, my younger sister is also away but goes to my mum’s almost everyday with my little niece, scaring the dog away. I guess it’s also nice to have the house full of noise and back to life.

Leave a comment